James Snell is a Lexington SC CDV Defense Attorney who assists clients throughout Lexington County who have been charged with domestic violence. The information contained herein may be of particular interest to those who have a pending Lexington SC CDV charge.

Most individuals arrested for CDV in Lexington SC will be transported to the Lexington County Detention Center at 521 Gibson Road, Lexington. Bond will be set by the Bond Court which is immediately adjacent. Charges brought by the Batesburg-Leesville police department or other municipalities may have the defendant transported to the town jail and have bond set by their own local judge. Bond Court will be presided over by one of the County's eight full time Magistrate judges.

After Bond Court the CDV case will be transferred to the appropriate Court for final resolution.

Charges of 1st Offense CDV that are brought by the Lexington County Sheriff's Deputies will be originally referred to the Lexington County Central CDV Court. It is located in the "old courthouse" at 139 East Main Street, Lexington, South Carolina. Those cases will be prosecuted by the Sheriff's department full time professional domestic violence prosecutor.

1st Offense CDV charges brought by municipal officers will be tried in the town court. The case will be handled either by the arresting officer or the town prosecutor. West Columbia CDV cases are ordinarily prosecuted by either volunteer attorneys from Columbia insurance defense law firms or by the South Carolina Attorney General's office. The following is a listing of the eleven separate municipal courts in Lexington County that have jurisdiction to try CDV cases:

Town of Lexington Municipal Court
111 Maiden Lane
Lexington, South Carolina

Town of Batesburg-Leesville Municipal Court
660 West Columbia Avenue
Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina

Town of Cayce Municipal Court
1800 12th Street
Cayce, South Carolina

Town of Chapin Municipal Court
103 Columbia Avenue
Chapin, South Carolina

Town of Irmo Municipal Court
1239 Columbia Avenue
Irmo, South Carolina

Town of Springdale Municipal Court
2915 Platt Springs Road
West Columbia, South Carolina

City of West Columbia Municipal Court
200 North 12th Street
West Columbia, South Carolina

Town of Pelion Municipal Court
1010 Main Street
Pelion, South Carolina

Town of Swansea Municipal Court
320 West Third Street
Swansea, South Carolina

Town of Pine Ridge Municipal Court
2757 Fish Hatchery Road
West Columbia, South Carolina

Town of South Congaree Municipal Court
119 West Berry Road
West Columbia, South Carolina

In addition to these Municipal Courts contested CDV cases will be transferred out of the Lexington County CDV Court to a local Magistrate Court. There are six separate Magistrate Courts in Irmo, Lexington, Batesburg-Leesville, Swansea, Oak Grove and Cayce.

2nd Offense CDV charges will be referred originally to the Lexington County Court of General Sessions. Those proceedings take place in the Lexington County Judicial Center located at 205 East Main Street, Lexington. 2 nd Offense CDV charges may be referred by the solicitor's office, with the consent or acquiescence of the defendant, to Transfer Court. Transfer Court is a special session of General Sessions presided over by a Magistrate. Transfer Court sentences cannot exceed one year and the Court does not have the authority to grant probation.

3rd and Subsequence CDV cases or CDVHAN chares are resolved in the Lexington County Court of General Sessions. They are prosecuted by the 11 th Circuit Solicitor's office.

James Snell's office is located at 123 Harmon Street, in downtown Lexington. This is conveniently located to the Lexington County Judicial as well as the Lexington County Central CDV Court.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.